the playoff groups are known

Published on : Modified :

The draw for the qualifiers took place in South Africa on Tuesday and divided 48 African teams into 12 groups. The 24 who qualify will face off in Ivory Coast in June 2023.

The page for the African Cup in Cameroon is turned, the road to CAN in Ivory Coast already opens. Tuesday, April 19, a draw divided 48 teams into 12 groups. The two best of each group will get their ticket for the next edition of the CAN.

The whole continent was concerned by this draw, with the exception of the six countries eliminated in the preliminary round: Mauritius, Djibouti, Seychelles, Somalia, Chad and Eritrea.

The teams were divided into four pots according to the FIFA ranking established on March 31, so that the big nations of the continent do not meet. This did not prevent the DR Congo from being placed in the group of GabonSenegal to find Benin on its way and Mali to find the astonishing Gambia, already faced in Cameroon.

Note that in its capacity as host country, Côte d’Ivoire is already qualified for the competition. Comoros, Zambia and Lesotho will compete for a single ticket in Group H.

The playoffs will begin on May 30.

The full draw

Group A: Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe.

Group B: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Togo, Eswatini.

Group C: Cameroon, Kenya*, Namibia, Burundi.

Group D: Egypt, Guinea, Malawi, Ethiopia.

Group E: Ghana, Madagascar, Angola, Central African Republic.

Group F: Algeria, Uganda, Niger, Tanzania.

Group G: Mali, Congo, Gambia, South Sudan.

Group H: Ivory Coast, Zambia, Comoros, Lesotho.

Group I: DR Congo, Gabon, Mauritania, Sudan.

Group J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Botswana.

Group K: Morocco, South Africa, Zimbabwe*, Liberia.

Group L: Senegal, Benin, Mozambique, Rwanda.

* The fate of Kenya and Zimbabwe, suspended by Fifa on February 24 for political interference, remains up in the air. If their suspension is not lifted two weeks before the first day of the playoffs, these selections “will be deemed losers and eliminated from the competition”. Groups C and K would then consist of three teams with a single elimination.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button