The Game Awards 2021: Lyonnais Arkane Studios wins two video game “Oscars” awards

The ceremony of Game Awards 2021, eagerly awaited by video game enthusiasts, delivered its verdict on the best titles of the year 2021. Among the awarded creators is a French studio: Arcane Studios Lyon.

Considered “the Oscars” of video games, the Game Awards have become in a few years a major event in the video game industry.

The evening, which took place at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Thursday, is also a show that allows studios and publishers around the world to present their upcoming games, but also to discover the very latest technological prowess.

But the Game Awards are above all there to reward the best games of the year in several categories, and the big winners are now known.

“It Takes Two” wins Oscar for best video game

Without a doubt, the biggest surprise of this edition is the unexpected victory of “It Takes Two“which was crowned” Best Game of the Year “.

This adventure game with a childish style, but a touching and solid storyline has convinced players of all ages.

In addition to this ultimate coronation, the game developed by Hazelight Studios and published by EA Originals, also managed to win the jackpot in the categories “Best family game” and “Best multiplayer game”.

Cock-a-doodle Doo ! The Lyon game Deathloop takes home two prizes

The game Deathloop, developed by the Lyon studio Arkane studios, caused a sensation during this evening by winning two coveted prizes: “Best artistic direction” and “Best achievement”.

With nine nominations in eight different categories at the 2021 Game Awards, including Best Game, Deathloop was clearly one of the games that marked the start of the 2021 season.

In Deathloop, you will play in the first person Colt Valhn, a character straight out of the 60s.

Prisoner on the Isle of Blackreef, you are stuck in a time loop. To escape it, you will have to collect many clues and kill “the eight Visionaries” during the same day.

To succeed in escaping from the island, you will have to learn from your mistakes and understand the different systems in order to achieve the perfect loop.

All the 2021 Game Awards winners by category

  • Game of the Year: It Takes Two
  • Best Artistic Direction: Deathloop

  • Best achievement: Deathloop

  • Most anticipated game: Elden ring

  • Best Action / Adventure Game: Metroid Dread

  • Best Action Game: Returnal

  • Best simulation / strategy: Age of Empires IV

  • Best Multiplayer Game: It Takes Two
  • Best role-playing game: Tales of Arise
  • Best VR / AR Game: Resident Evil 4 VR
  • Best Sports / Racing Game: Forza Horizon 5
  • Best family game : It Takes Two
  • Best Fighting Game: Guilty Gear Strive
  • Best Impact Game: Life is Strange: True Colors
  • Best mobile game: Genshin Impact
  • Best Accessibility Innovation: Forza Horizon 5
  • Best Original Soundtrack: Deny Replicant

  • Best performance: Maggie Robertson, Resident Evil Village

  • Best Audio Design: Forza Horizon 5

  • Best Indie Game: Kena: Bridge of Spirits

  • Best narration: Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Better link with the community: FINAL FANTASY XIV Online

  • Best Evolving Game: Final Fantasy XIV

  • Best Esport Athlete: Oleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev

  • Best Esport Game: League of Legends

How are the best games designated?

The public selection of the Game Awards is made by an international jury. The latter is made up of more than 80 media and influencers who have a certain notoriety in the video game industry.

Each member of the jury designates their 5 best choices for each award category. All the votes received are then compiled and the 5 most mentioned representatives or games are nominated for the Game Awards.

The winners are determined by a mixed vote between the jury (90%) and the public vote (10%) via social networks.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button